New Learning

August 3, 2007

Netvibes

Filed under: Uncategorized — kevhickeyuk @ 1:14 pm

October 19, 2006

I thought I’d write a bit about a site that I have found invaluable. Netvibes (www.netvibes.com) is a website that you can personalise with various boxes containing pretty much any content you want.  It is like a far more impressive version of the personalised google page.  If all the information you want won’t fit on one page, you can set up additional pages which can be accessed by tabs across the top of the screen.  It primarily uses rss feeds but the additional add-ons allow it to do a lot more. If there are any websites that you look at that don’t support rss feeds or cant be set up with one of the netvibes modules, you can add a notepad onto the page to keep a note of any other web addresses, or anything else you want to make a note of.  Once this has been set up you can use it as your browsers home page and all the information you want to look at is on one page.  So for example on my personalised page I have

– my gmail inbox

– Guardian unlimited headlines

– bbc local news

– Updates on any eBay items I am watching or bidding on

– My friends latest blog entry’s

– A summary of my myspace page

– a Notepad

– My Del.icio.us links

– The weather for the next 5 days

 

I also have an additional tab containing eLearning news, blogs and events. If you want to be really distracted you can even have a mini version of pacman in the corner of your screen.

Blogged with Flock

Tags:

1 Comment »

  1. […] me through the day.   But I am not writting to say how great netvibes is, ive already done that here. Juat to say that netvibes is now avalable formobile devices via […]

    Pingback by Moblie Netvibes « An eLearning Advisor — August 30, 2007 @ 3:19 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

